Home » About  »  Regional Commissions  »  Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)

escapregThe United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) is the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region. Made up of 53 Member States and 9 Associate Members, with a geographical scope that stretches from Turkey in the west to the Pacific island nation of Kiribati in the east, and from the Russian Federation in the north to New Zealand in the south, the region is home to 4.1 billion people, or two thirds of the world’s population. This makes ESCAP the most comprehensive of the United Nations five regional commissions, and the largest United Nations body serving the Asia-Pacific region with over 600 staff.

Established in 1947 with its headquarters in Bangkok, Thailand, ESCAP works to overcome some of the region’s greatest challenges by providing results oriented projects, technical assistance and capacity building to member States in the following areas: Sustainable Development, Macroeconomic Policy and Development, Trade and Investment, Transport, Social Development, Environment and Development, Information and Communications Technology, Disaster Risk Reduction, Statistics and Sub-regional activities for development

 ESCAP Member States

Afghanistan, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia,China, Fiji, France, Georgia, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People’s Republic of), Korea (the Republic of), Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic(the), Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands (the), Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands (the), New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines (the), Russian Federation (the), Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (the), United States of America (the), Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

Associate Members

American Samoa, Cook Islands (the), French Polynesia, Guam, Hong Kong, China, Macao, China, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Islands (the)